Arkansas Marijuana & CBD Laws
Get the scoop on Arkansas medical marijuana laws, recreational marijuana laws and CBD use laws. Have you come here looking for quick info on marijuana laws and penalties in Arkansas? We cover recreational marijuana and medical marijuana laws for the state on this page. We also answer the question - Are CBD products and CBD legal in Arkansas? Here are other ways you may have found this page on Arkansas marijuana and CBD laws:
Arkansas Marijuana Laws
Marijuana laws differ slightly from state to state, with an increasing number of states legalizing the federally prohibited herb. Many states also allow the medical use of marijuana based on a doctor’s written recommendation, but each state has its unique approach to regulation.
For example, Arkansas is among 25 states that allow medical use in certain situations. But most states do not punish people as severely for marijuana offenses as they do with other drugs, such as heroin or methamphetamine.
Arkansas law on medical marijuana
Medical marijuana legalization in Arkansas dates back to 2006, when Eureka Springs residents rolled the ball and passed the voter initiative by 64%-36% to make police enforcement of marijuana crime a low priority. In 2008, the Fayetteville followed suit with a similar voting initiative.
The first attempt to legalize the medical marijuana at the state level came in 2012 when the Arkansas medical marijuana law made it as much as statewide balloting. Unfortunately, it was defeated by 48.6% to 51.4%. However, legalization advocates were not deterred; after four years, they achieved it.
As part of Arkansas MMJ laws, you must have one of the following qualifying conditions and a physician’s recommendation before applying for a medical marijuana card in the state:
Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS-positive status, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Tourette’s syndrome, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, PTSD, severe arthritis, fibromyalgia, Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia or wasting syndrome, Peripheral neuropathy Pain, that is, pain that has not responded to regular medication, treatment or surgical procedures for more than six (6) months, severe nausea, seizures, including characteristic of epilepsy, intense and persistent muscle spasms, including part of multiple sclerosis.
Arkansas law on recreational marijuana
Possession of fewer than 4 ounces or 110 grams is Class A behavior and carries a fine of up to $2,500 and imprisonment for up to one year. For offenders with two existing convictions, possession of 1 ounce or 28 grams is a Class D felony that attracts a fine of up to $6,000 and a maximum of six years in prison.
First-time offenders caught with up to 4 ounces or 110 fines face a fine of up to $2,500, up to a year in prison, and a mandatory suspension of their driver’s license for six months.
Arkansas Law on the Use of CBD Oils
Following the passage of the 2018 Farm Act, which legalized hemp (cannabis with less than 0.3% THC) and allowed it to be grown and distributed as an agricultural product, the Arkansas legislature also passed HB 1518, which decriminalized hemp-derived Cannabidiol (CBD). As a result, hemp-derived CBD is regulated within the state’s medical marijuana program.
Arkansas Marijuana Penalties
Possession of the fewer than 4 ounces of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.
Possession between 1 ounce and less than 4 ounces by a perpetrator with four or more previous drug convictions is a Class D felony, punishable by up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Possession between 4 ounces and less than 10 pounds is a Class D felony, punishable by up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Possession between 10 pounds and less than 25 pounds is a Class C felony, punishable by a minimum of 3 years imprisonment, up to 10 years, and a fine not exceeding $10,000. Possession between 25 pounds and less than 100 pounds is a Class B felony, punishable by a minimum mandatory five years imprisonment, up to 20 years, and a fine not exceeding $15,000.
Possession of 100 pounds and less than 500 pounds is a first-degree felony, punishable by a minimum mandatory six years imprisonment, up to 30 years, and a fine not exceeding $15,000.
Arkansas Marijuana Laws in relation to the US Federal Government As stated before, the US federal government still considers marijuana use illegal for United States citizens, immigrants and tourists. While the federal government still calls marijuana an illegal drug, they have left most enforcement of marijuana law to the US States, partly because the federal government has more important things to deal with on a daily basis. This gives Arkansas the power to mostly set and enforce its own marijuana laws regarding recreational and medical marijuana usage, possession and distribution.
Arkansas Law and other US States Arkansas's marijuana and CBD laws and penalties are unique to Arkansas. States other than Arkansas have their own laws about medical marijuana and recreational marijuana, as well as CBD derivatives. The states that prohibit certain aspects of marijuana also have varying penalties for violation of their laws.
The best thing to do is to be informed and visit our United States marijuana law pages and our individual US state profile pages regarding marijuana and CBD.